Odds & Ends

Writing It In Stone… Or Blog

How is it that it is just January and I already feel overwhelmed when I open my Lilly planner? I mean seriously people… I have been in school for two weeks yet I feel like winter break was months ago. It’s sad, really. Anyway, the point here is that I have some goals, you could even say resolutions that I need to put out to the world so I am held accountable. Somehow, I have let my resolutions go by the waste-side since getting acquainted again in Baton Rouge and since school started (the irony of it all).

Before I get into the body of this post including my 2014 goals (let’s call them goals so that it isn’t as cringe-worthy) let me just say, I know what you are thinking. I  KNOW that New Year Resolutions- I mean goals, are cliché and usually look a lot like crammed gyms for the first couple months after the new year, but just hear me out. I must put these goals of mine somewhere that is more concrete than a sticky note on my desk, so this is my platform. Also, one could say 2013 was a year of adjusting. I don’t want to say it was a “bad” year by any means, but the man upstairs sure did throw me a few- okay A LOT of curve balls. Because of this, I firmly believe 2014 will be a great year. To ensure this year will be one for the books, here are the mantras I will be living by, habits I will be breaking, and goals I will be working on for the next 12 months…

  • EVERYTHING WILL BE OKAY. This is something I have a hard time telling myself and more importantly BELIEVING when things don’t go as expected. The most important thing I want to focus on for 2014 is to trust in His plan.
  • Speaking of His plan, stop making excuses for skipping church. Make time.
  • Convince my parents to get another Golden Retriever.
  • You are only 20, get a grip. I always catch myself getting caught up in the “timeline” I have in my head. For 2014 I want to focus on living in the present. Stop overlooking the past and the future.
  • Hard work beats talent when talent fails to work hard. No I do not have legs for days, and no, I can’t do 15 pirouettes at the drop of a hat. But I can push myself to continually improve and push my boundaries as a dancer (Sorry for those non-dancers out there. You are probably lost with this bullet point).
  • Take more pictures (just realized I am becoming my mother).
  • With that being said, get a nice camera.
  • Take more class- dance class that is. Travel for conventions. Find masterclasses. Whatever it takes.
  • Write more cards to my long distance friends and family.
  • See Beyoncé in concert again.
  • The classic new year goal- YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT.

Here’s to sticking to the bullet points.

xo

Sammy

Standard

Leave a Reply

